Boston Braves Hockey

The Boston Braves hockey team was established in 1971 and named for the city's former baseball team. They played in the American Hockey League (AHL) for three seasons and were the farm team of the Boston Bruins. For three years, Boston had three hockey teams: the Braves, the Bruins, and the New England Whalers of the World Hockey Association. Starting in 1974, the Bruins paid a small fee to the NHL to keep the team dormant. In 1987, the assets were sold to the original Winnipeg Jets, who reactivated the franchise in Moncton, New Brunswick, renaming them the Hawks.