Utah Stars ABA Hat

The Utah Stars began as the Anaheim Amigos, charter members of the American Basketball Association (ABA) in 1967. In 1968, they moved up the freeway to become the Los Angeles Stars. In 1970, the team moved to Salt Lake City, where they won the ABA Championship in 1971. There home court was the Salt Palace. While well supported by fans in Utah, the team still struggled financially and a few weeks into the 1975-76 season, the franchise was revoked by the league, thereby ruining any chance of joining the NBA as part of the coming merger between the two pro leagues. The Spirits of St. Louis planned to move to Salt Lake City in 1976 but instead chose to be bought out in the expansion deal. Notable players included: Cincy PowellRon BooneZelmo Beaty, and Johnny Neumann.