Sign up for our newsletter & save on your first order

All-America Football Conference

The All-America Football Conference, or AAFC, was founded in 1945 by Chicago Tribune sports editor Arch Ward in 1944 to challenge the established National Football League. Ward's new circuit debuted in 1946 with eight teams and played for three seasons before the NFL absorbed three of the league's teams, the Cleveland Browns, San Francisco 49ers, and Baltimore Colts after the 1949 season. Other teams in the league included the Buffalo Bison (renamed the Bills in 1947), the Los Angeles Dons, and the Chicago Rockets, who became the Hornets in the AAFC's final season.